Sunday 27 November 2011

St. Pius X - Part IX

On this day one hundred years ago, at a Public Consistory, Pope St. Pius X created Cardinals their Eminences:

  • António Mendes, Cardinal Bello, Cardinal-Priest of Ss. Marcellino e Pietro in pecore, Patriarch of Lisbon;
  • José María Justo, Cardinal Cos y Macho, Cardinal-Priest of S. Maria del Popolo, Archbishop of Valladolid;
  • Diomede, Cardinal Falconio, O.F.M., Cardinal-Priest of S. Maria in Ara Coeli, then Apostolic Delegate to the United States of America and later Prefect of the S. Cong. of Religious;
  • Antonio, Cardinal Vico, then Apostolic Nuncio of Spain, later Prefect of the S. Cong. of Rites; Gennaro, Cardinal Granito Pignatelli di Belmonte, Cardinal-Priest of S. Maria degli Angeli, then Apostolic Nuncio of Austria and later Prefect of the S. Cong. of Ceremonies;
  • John Murphy, Cardinal Farley, Cardinal-Priest of S. Maria sopra Minerva, Archbishop of New York;
  • Francis Aphonsus, Cardinal Bourne, Cardinal-Priest of S. Pudenziana, Archbishop of Westminster;
  • František Salesky, Cardinal Bauer, Cardinal-Priest of S. Girolamo dei Croati, Archbishop of Olomouc;
  • Léon-Adolphe, Cardinal Amette, Cardinal-Priest of S. Sabina, Archbishop of Paris;
  • William Henry, Cardinal O'Connell, Cardinal-Priest of S. Clemente, Archbishop of Boston;
  • Enrique, Cardinal Almaraz y Santos, Cardinal-Priest of S. Pietro in Montorio, Archbishop of Toledo;
  • François-Virgile, Cardinal llard, Cardinal-Priest of S. Susanna, Archbishop of Chambéry;
  • Franz Xaver, Cardinal Nagl, Cardinal-Priest of S. Marco, Archbishop of Vienna;
  • François-Marie-Anatole, Cardinal de Rovérié de Cabrières, Cardinal-Priest of S. Maria della Vittoria, Bishop of Montpellier;
  • Gaetano, Cardinal Bisleti, Cardinal-Deacon of S. Agata de’ Goti, later Prefect of the S. Cong. for Seminaries and Universities and President of the Pont. Biblical Commission;
  • Giovanni Battista, Cardinal Lugari, Cardinal-Deacon of S. Maria in Portico;
  • Basilio, Cardinal Pompilj, Cardinal-Deacon of S. Maria in Domnica, then Secretary of the S. Cong. of the Council, later Vicar General for the Vicariate of Rome and President of the Pont. Commission for Sacred Archaeology;
  • Louis, Cardinal Billot, S.J. Cardinal-Deacon of S. Maria in Via Lata;
  • Wilhelmus Marinus, Cardinal van Rossum, C.SS.R., Cardinal-Deacon of S. Cesareo in Palatio, later President of Pont. Biblical Commission, Major Penitentiary Apostolic, and Prefect of the S. Cong. for the Propagation of the Faith.

  • Sancte Pie Decime, Gloriose Patrone, ora pro nobis!